Presidential Scholarships

Twenty Presidential Scholarships are awarded each year by the University Honors Program to high school seniors with a history of outstanding academic performance.  Presidential Scholarships are worth $16,000 over four years ($4000 per year) and stack with the Panther Impact Award for a total award amount of $30,000 over four years ($7500 per year).  Recipients will be those whose strong academic credentials are matched by personal involvement in leadership and service activities.

Scholarship Requirements

Maintenance of Presidential Scholarships over four years will depend on recipients meeting the following criteria:

  • Complete 1st year seminars

  • Participate in 2nd and 3rd year think tank and leadership experiences

  • Maintain a 3.50 cumulative GPA

  • Make progress toward an honors designation including the senior thesis

Presidential Scholar Activities

The awards carry recognition for academic excellence, as well as the expectation for leadership and service.  The following program features are designed to enhance the academic and civic engagement of Presidential Scholars.

First-year seminars

New scholarship recipients participate in scholars-only seminars during their first two semesters at UNI.  The seminars are designed to challenge new scholars academically while also giving them an opportunity to establish themselves as a community of learners.  The Honors Advisory Board selects honors seminars from proposals submitted by university faculty.  Two seminars are selected each year to be reserved for incoming Presidential Scholars. 

Think tank and service learning

Sophomore scholars participate in two-credit hour courses that provide the opportunity to identify and analytically approach a problem or issue affecting the campus or community.  During fall semester think tanks, teams of scholars, research and analyze selected issues, propose solutions, examine implementation options, and develop plans to be executed during a service learning course in the spring.  The courses provide a structured way for Presidential Scholars to grow intellectually while combining their strengths and talents for the benefit of our campus and community.

2018-2019 Think Tank Projects

2017-2018 Think Tank Projects

2016-2017 Think Tank Projects

2015-2016 Think Tank Projects

2014-2015 Think Tank Projects

Honors Involvement

All Presidential Scholars are members of the University Honors Program and as such take part in specialized honors classes throughout their program of study.  Scholars can choose from a variety of honors sections that fulfill Liberal Arts Core requirements, as well as seminars developed specifically for the program.  The honors experience concludes with an individual senior thesis/project guided by a faculty advisor.  See Program Requirements for further information on the hours needed for an honors designation. 

Requirements for scholarship maintenance include a provision that scholars make progress toward an honors designation including the senior thesis/project. In order to show such progress, scholars should achieve a minimum of 9 hours of honors credit by the end of their sophomore year.  The 2-hour first-year seminars can be included in the 9-hour minimum.

Current Presidential Scholars

         Fourth-Year Presidential Scholars

Fourth-Year Presidential Scholars

Pictured (left to right):

Row 1 - Sydney Atwood, Megan Kooker, Raelynn Meade, Aaron Iehl, Collin Krukow
Row 2 -  Joseph Tibbs, Jacob Horn, Adam Denner, Loreena Hucke
Row 3 - Cheryl Nook, Mark Nook, Jessica Moon

(Not pictured: Trisha Coberly, Rishabh Dalal, Zach Heinzman, Kate Murray, Estefania Ravasio Corrales, Mohammed Rawwas, Anya Shorey, Isaac Smith)


Third-Year Presidential Scholars

Third-Year Presidential Scholars

Pictured (left to right):

Row 1 - Rachel Kitrell, Elizabeth Kelsey, Madeleine Hartleip, Jill Miller, Abbie Read
Row 2 - Jordan Weber, Emily Loomis, Emily Schotzko, Grace Brady, Hannah Vos, Laura Kaufmann
Row 3 - Nathan Zoss, Triet Ngo, Sydney Wagner, Dylan Haase, Bekah Bass, Jessica Moon
Row 4 - Cheryl & Mark Nook
(Not pictured: Anne Gradoville, Allison Triplett, Chris Wichert, Carter Stochl)


Second-Year Presidential Scholars

 Second-Year Presidential Scholars

Pictured (left to right):

Row 1 - Samantha Bennett, Maya Deuso, Megan Kramer, Madison Young, Madison Motz
Row 2 - Emily Terrones, Hannah Dash, Janessa Klein, Sophia Conant, Ryan Oswald
Row 3 - Autumn Boettger, Elizabeth Wessels, Riley Elenz, Derek Koppes
Row 4 - Shyanne Sporrer, Melanie Miller, Derek LaBarge
Row 5 - Carson Ehrenberg, Dylan Hauptmann, Kellen Schmidt, Jessica Moon
Row 6 - Cheryl & Mark Nook

First-Year Presidential Scholars
First-Year Presidential Scholars

Pictured (left to right):

Row 1 - Jessica Haugen, Kylie Tinder, Katie Thessen, Bailey Ensminger, Natalee Lyons
Row 2 - Emily Eyheralde, Anna Alldredge, Autumn Stowe, Ana Eagan, Lindsey Ingraham
Row 3 - Elizabeth Tulley, Bella Huddleston, Nathan Williams, Jacob Kuhn, Will Nachazel
Row 4 - Cheryl Nook, Mark Nook, Jessica Moon
(Not pictured: Chloe Johnson, Chloe Ngo, Landen Parmelee, Alayna Ringsby, Robert Tate Storbeck)